Burwood Art Prize

The physical 2020 Burwood Art Prize exhibition is now closed. You can view Information about the prizes, judging panel as well as all of the artworks entered in the 2020 Burwood Art Prize online Catalogue

2020 Burwood Art Prize Catalogue(PDF, 18MB)

2020 Burwood Art Prize Live Stream 

2020 Burwood Art Prize Winners 

Art prize opening night

Art prize opening night 2





  • $5,000 for Artwork of the Year (Acquisitive Prize)
  • $2,500 for New and Emerging Artist (Acquisitive Prize)
  • $1,000 for People’s Choice Award (Non-acquisitive Prize)

Artwork of the Year and New and Emerging Artist award’s will be selected by the 2020 Burwood Art Prize judging panel. The artwork with the highest number votes at the end of the exhibition will win the People’s Choice Award. Visitors and entrants will be able to vote in person when viewing the 2020 Burwood Art Prize Exhibition, with one vote per person.  


Rhianna Walcott
Rhianna Walcott is the Associate Director of Artereal Gallery in Rozelle, Sydney. With over 12 years industry experience, Rhianna has previously worked with the University of Sydney Art Collection and as a freelance arts writer for various contemporary art publications. Rhianna also sits on the Board of Directors for Art Month Sydney, the Museum of Contemporary Art’s Young Ambassador Committee and the Artistic Advisory Council for Milk Crate Theatre. 

Lachlan Warner
Lachlan Warner completed his undergraduate training at Sydney College of the Arts and his MFA at Rutgers University, USA, then completed his PhD on Art and Buddhism at Sydney College in 2017. He has been the winner of the Blake Prize (2001), the Campbelltown Contemporary Art Prize (2005), a finalist in the National Sculpture Award at the National Gallery of Australia in 2007 and the very fortunate winner of the Burwood Art Prize in 2019.  He has exhibited in public and private galleries in Australia, Thailand, the United States, Japan and the Netherlands. In 2007 he was commissioned to make the Australian Buddha for the World Buddhist Congress in Kobe, Japan. His work over the last 6 years explores the imagery the Buddha used when describing the human condition of Dukkha, or suffering. Lachlan teaches Visual Art at  the Australian Catholic University’s Strathfield campus.

Luke Létourneau
Luke Létourneau is a curator and an arts writer based in Western Sydney. Since 2018, he has been a Curator at Casula Powerhouse Arts Centre. He works with artists from all career stages, including through his previous roles at Kudos Gallery at UNSW Art & Design, Kil.n.it Experimental Ceramics Studio and as a committee member of Runway Journal. Luke holds a Bachelor of Art Theory and a Masters of Curating and Cultural Leadership from UNSW, where became the inaugural recipient of the Freedman Foundation Curatorial Scholarship.



Artwork of the Year  
$5,000 Acquisitive Prize
Fan  DongwangPandemic Body

Pandemic Body

art prize winner .jpg

New and Emerging Artist  
$2,500 Acquisitive Prize
Eleanor Dillon - Bush Reverie

Eleanor Dillon

elanor .jpg

People’s Choice Award

$1,000 Non-Acquisitive Prize
Shirley Yin - Sands of Time

2020 Art Prize - Entrant Submission - Shirley Yin (Image).jpg  


Artwork of the Year 

Lachlan Warner - Portrait of a Meditator (Self)
Portrait of a Meditator (Self)

New and Emerging Artist 

Gabrielle Hawkey - Home
Home Gabrielle Hawkey

People's Choice 

Anna-Mei Tapia - Seashore
Anna Mei Tapia.jpg

Artwork of the Year 

Andrew Tomkins - Slowly Goes the Night, Werri Lagoon
Slowly Goes the Night, Werri Lagoon

Art Sustainability Award

Ronna Zou - A Beautiful Day

A beautiful Day

People's Choice 

Penelope Bobbin - Tub Nixawg (Youngest Son) 

Tub Nixawg (Youngest Son)