Mayor and Councillors

Burwood Council is governed by seven councillors and is led by a Mayor who is popularly elected by the community.  A Deputy Mayor is elected by fellow councillors from among their number.

As a result of the delay in holding the most recent local government elections, the term of this council will be shorter than the usual four year term.  The Mayor and councillors elected at the 4 December 2021 election will serve until the next local government elections are held in September 2024.

Councillors are collectively responsible for providing effective civic leadership that is focused on agreed strategic directions.  These directions are expressed through Community Strategic Plans plus supporting plans and strategies developed by Council in response to community needs and priorities.  Council also takes account of regional planning imperatives established by the NSW Government as well as relevant national priorities affecting local government.

The collective responsibilities of councillors also extend to:

  • directing and controlling the affairs of Council
  • operating in a financially sustainable manner
  • acting in accordance with integrated planning and reporting principles
  • keeping the overall performance of the Council under review
  • making decisions necessary for proper exercise of regulatory functions
  • consulting regularly with community organisations and other key stakeholders
  • ensuring that Council acts honestly, efficiently and appropriately.

Individually, each councillor is obliged to:

  • be an active and contributing member of the governing body
  • make considered and well informed decisions
  • participate in the development of the integrated planning and reporting framework
  • represent the collective interests of residents, ratepayers and the local community
  • facilitate communication between the local community and the governing body
  • uphold and represent accurately the policies and decisions of the governing body
  • acquire and maintain the skills necessary to perform effectively as a councillor
  • be accountable to the local community for the performance of the council.

People who work for Burwood Council are responsible for the design and delivery of facilities and services in line with resolutions of Council. The elected Council consults with the general manager in directing and controlling the affairs of the Council. 

Following the postponed local government elections, the final details of the new Council were officially declared on 23 December 2021. The Mayor and Councillors for the 2021 - 2024 term are listed below. Keep an eye out for more details about the new Council in the near future. 


Councillor Representation on Committees

Council sponsors and / or provides representation to various types of bodies that may have an important bearing on the way Council may exercise its functions.  They fall within three main categories – community based advisory committees, technical and management advisory committees and independent industry bodies.

Community Based Advisory Committees

Community based advisory committees sponsored by Burwood Council typically consist of a combination of interested representatives from the community, elected members of Council and expert staff.  It is customary for a councillor to serve as the Chairperson of each such Committee.  These committees provide recommendations to Council on matters of interest that fall within the subject scope of the relevant committee.

The committees have no delegated authority or independent decision making powers and are not permitted to act autonomously.  They are obliged to forward any recommendations to elected Council on proposed action and must gain approval before engaging in any action not already approved.

Burwood 150 Year Anniversary Steering Committee

  • Chairperson: Mayor John Faker
  • Delegate and Alternate Chair: Cr Heather Crichton
  • Alternate Delegate: Cr Ned Cutcher

Burwood Anzac Commemorative Service Committee

  • Chairperson: Mayor John Faker
  • Delegate(s): Cr Heather Crichton
  • Alternate(s): Cr David Hull

Burwood Sustainability and Environment Advisory Committee

  • Chairperson: Mayor John Faker
  • Delegate(s): Deputy Mayor George Mannah, Cr Ned Cutcher
  • Alternate(s): Cr Hugo Robinson

Multicultural Advisory Committee

  • Chairperson: Cr Pascale Esber
  • Delegate(s): N/A
  • Alternate(s): Cr Hugo Robinson

National Servicemen’s Association Committee

  • Chairperson: Cr Pascale Esber
  • Delegate(s): N/A
  • Alternate(s): Cr David Hull

Sandakan Community Educational Committee

  • Chairperson: Cr Heather Crichton
  • Delegate(s): N/A
  • Alternate(s): Cr Pascale Esber

Technical Advisory Committees

 These committees may consist of various combinations of Councillors, staff and external experts who provide advice to Council on matters requiring technical expertise. 

The Burwood Council ARIC (Audit Risk and Improvement Committee) provides independent assurance and assistance to Council in the effective discharge of its responsibilities for financial reporting, risk management, internal controls and governance as well as internal and external audit.  It is subject to requirements under the NSW Local Government Act 1993.

The Burwood Local Traffic Committee deals with roads and traffic management responsibilities delegated to Council by the NSW Government under road transport legislation.

The General Manager’s Contract Review Panel is charged with responsibility for oversight of performance of the General Manager and contractual arrangements governing this.

These technical and management advisory committees cannot act autonomously and must forward any recommendations for action to elected Council for endorsement before action can proceed.  Please note: in the case of the Burwood Local Traffic Committee, any variations by elected Council to recommendations put to it by the Committee are subject to review by NSW Police and Transport for NSW before relevant action may commence.

Burwood Council Audit Risk and Improvement Committee (ARIC)

  • Chairperson: N/A
  • Delegate (Non-voting member): Cr Ned Cutcher
  • Alternate: Cr Hugo Robinson

Burwood Local Traffic Committee

  • Chairperson: Mayor John Faker (Deputy Mayor to be in the Chair in the absence of Mayor)
  • Delegate(s): N/A
  • Alternate(s): Cr Hugo Robinson

General Manager’s Contract Review Panel

  • Chairperson: Mayor John Faker
  • Delegate(s): Deputy Mayor George Mannah and Cr Heather Crichton
  • Alternate(s): Cr Hugo Robinson


Independent Industry Bodies

These are entities that are independent of Council but which provide for ongoing Council representation as per their terms of reference.

Sydney Eastern City Planning Panel

  • Chairperson: N/A
  • Delegate(s): Mayor John Faker and Deputy Mayor George Mannah
  • Alternate(s): Cr Heather Crichton, Cr Ned Cutcher, Cr Pascale Esber, Cr David Hull, Cr Hugo Robinson 

Southern Sydney Regional Organisation of Councils (SSROC) - Full Committee

  • Chairperson: N/A
  • Delegate(s): Mayor John Faker and Cr Heather Crichton
  • Alternate(s): Cr Ned Cutcher and Deputy Mayor George Mannah

SSROC - Sustainability Committee

  • Chairperson: N/A
  • Delegate(s): Cr Heather Crichton and Cr Ned Cutcher
  • Alternate(s): Nil - based on existing convention

SSROC - Program Delivery Committee

  • Chairperson: N/A
  • Delegate(s): Cr Ned Cutcher and Cr Hugo Robinson
  • Alternate(s): Nil - based on existing convention




Councillors' Disclosure of Interest Returns

Councillors are required under the Burwood Council Code of Conduct to lodge disclosure of interest returns at least once a year. Annual disclosures are due by 30 September each year.

First-time disclosures of interests will be submitted by newly elected councillors and included on this page by March 2022. 

Disclosure of Interest Returns 2023-2024