Korea

korea.jpg

For Adults

Learn more about Korea

korea know more.JPG

  • Korea. Culture Smart! The Essential Guide to Customs & Culture by James Hoare available from Hoopla
    Divided along the 38th parallel, modern Korea is the subject of two very different political, social, and economic experiments – the South Korea and North Korea.  This book looks at the changing social and economic situation and provides real insights into thinking and behavior in both countries.
  • Stitching The 24-Hour City: Life, Labour and the Problem of Speed in Seoul by Seo Young Park available from Hoopla
    Stitching the 24-Hour City reveals the intense speed of garment production and everyday life in Dongdaemun, a lively market in Seoul, South Korea.
  • Korea A Very Short Introduction by Michael J. Seth audio book available from Indyreads
    Listen to this audio book and explore the history, culture, and society of a deeply divided region.
  • Korea: Lonely Planet Country Guide by Simon Richmond available from Libby
    Get ready for the day we can travel again, with this comprehensive guide for travellers. 
  • Nothing to Envy: Life, Love and Death in North Korea by Barbara Demick from Indyreads
    Journalist Barbara Demick spent a decade covering North Korea's strange politics and regulations. One day she met a young woman defector, Mi-ran, who told her about growing up there; about the cinema she used to go to when the country still had electricity, and about the teenage romance which blossomed there. Through Mi-ran's story Demick glimpsed another, more human side of North Korea. 
  • Kimchi Essential recipes of the Korean Kitchen by Byung-Soon Lim available from Indyreads
    Lim presents the recipe of a classic kimchi with lettuce, cabbage, chilli and ginger, but also the popular radish kimchi, kattugi, as well as the more unusual varieties with pumpkin, oysters, mushrooms, roots and other vegetables.
  • K-pop is redefining music marketing in the U.S. by Lily Lowndes from Gale OneFile News

 

Leisure reads

korea leisure.JPG

  • When my Name was Keoko by Linda Sue Park from Indyreads.
    She never forgot her name was actually Kim Sun-hee. No matter what she was called, she was Korean not Japanese.  Inspired by true-life events, this heart-warming tale of courage, resilience and hope reveals what happens when culture, country and identity are threatened.
  • If I Had Your Face by Frances Cha available from Indyreads
    A riveting debut novel set in contemporary Seoul, Korea, about four young women making their way in a world defined by impossibly high standards of beauty, secret room salons catering to wealthy men, strict social hierarchies, and K-pop fan mania.
  • Re Jane A Novel by Patricia Park available from Indyreads
    Journeying from Queens to Brooklyn to Seoul, and back, this is a fresh, contemporary retelling of Jane Eyre and a poignant Korean American debut.
  • K-Pop Confidential by Stephan Lee read by Joy Osmanski
    A Korean-American girl travels to Seoul in hopes of debuting in a girl group at the same K-pop company behind the most popular boy band on the planet in this romantic coming-of-age novel about chasing big dreams, for fans of Mary H. K. Choi and Jenny Han. This audio book can be downloaded from Hoopa.

 

Korean films

korean films.JPG

 

K-Pop music available for streaming and downloading from Hoopla

korea kpop.JPG

 

For Kids

korea kids.JPG