Local Government amalgamations

On Thursday, 12 May 2016 the NSW Government announced the creation of 19 new councils across Sydney and NSW.

The Premier also announced his in-principle support for the creation of a further 9 councils, including the proposed Burwood, Canada Bay and Strathfield entity, subject to the decision of the courts. 

An announcement on the future of Burwood, Canada Bay and Strathfield Councils is expected to be made in the coming weeks. 

You can find out more information on the new councils by visiting the NSW Government’s Stronger Councils website: